CFDA Awards: And the envelope, please …

Monday’s Council of Fashion Designers of America Fashion Awards was, as expected, a positive fashion bonanza, reported WWD.

Celebrities such as Kanye West, Naomi Watts, Gerard Butler, Ashley Greene and Miranda Kerr rubbed shoulders with nominees during a glam ceremony at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall in New York City.

The night’s winners included Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler for the 2011 Womenswear Designer of the Year award, Michael Bastian for the Menswear Designer of the Year and Alexander Wang for the Accessory Designer of the Year. The 2011 CFDA Swarovski Award for up-and-coming talents was bestowed upon Prabal Gurung for Womenswear, Robert Geller for Menswear and Eddie Borgo for Accessory Design.

And what award show would be complete without a nod to the excitement of being nominated?

“I know it’s a cliché, but it’s just an honor to be nominated,” Patrik Ervell, a menswear nominee, said to WWD.

The CFDA also conferred several special recognitions, including the Fashion Icon Award to Lady Gaga and the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award to Marc Jacobs. Phoebe Philo was given an International Award, and Hilary Alexander received the Media Award in memory of Eugenia Sheppard. Rounding out the winners were Arthur Elgort, the recipient of the Board of Director’s Special Tribute Award, and Hal Rubenstein, the winner of the Founders Award in memory of Eleanor Lambert.

Swarovski nominee Joseph Altuzarra believed that the ceremony’s highlight would be Marc Jacobs’ speech. “I think he deserves it. And I’m really curious as to what he has to say; if he has any wisdom to impart,” Altuzarra said.

In terms of getups, Lady Gaga’s showy entrance took the cake. The star strolled in with turquoise hair, sporting a Thierry Mugler swirl of black beads and lace over a leather bodysuit and spiked heels.

Tagged in: cfda, award, lady gaga, council of fashion designers of america, winners,


Purple Neon/LadyLUX via WWD

Related Articles